Jonquill's

The Mittens are In…

In Uncategorized on August 17, 2010 at 3:47 am

When I get home, I hear my roommate from behind his door.

“You’re home late.”

“Yep.  Walked over the Willy-B”

“Oh God.  Are you okay?  Do you want to talk about it?”

“Ummm…no.  I probably should have considered alternate footwear.  Sandals suck right now, but other than that.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah.  Yeah, I’m sure.”

“Okay, well…just…you know I’m here if you need me.”

“…okay…”

I mean really.  You climb to the top of the Williamsburg bridge one drunken night when you’re distraught over an ex-girlfriend, and you can never go traipsing over a river again without people asking you questions! 

So sure, maybe I was feeling a little bit of ennui.  Maybe the crackling facade of the summer heat falling apart before me, slowly giving way to the oncoming forces of fall might have chilled not my skin, but my soul.  Maybe something on the zephyrs spinning over the beams and struts of that Brooklyn  stalwart might have wheedled their way into my marrow and something started to give.  Starting inside.  Working it’s way out.

Maybe a sadness was there in the cold.

But, maybe, just maybe…the bridge knew what I needed.

With that I tucked my fingers into the cozy yarns of a extremely weird graffiti meme.

It got me home okay.

P.S. If someone asks me what kind of gloves I’m wearing in winter…I’m telling them I’m wearing meme.

P.P.S. Meme by Lagerfeld.  (He so might do that.)

Leave a Reply

